The Academy of British Cover Design’s covers of the year

Judging by the number of post-awards tweets, a good time was had by all at the Academy of British Cover Design’s annual shindig last night.

The year’s best work in book cover design was duly awarded and you can check out all the winning work below – all the shortlisted projects, which serve as a fine summation of some of 2016’s best designs, are also shown on the ABCD website. Here’s who won what last night:

Non-Fiction cover winner: Jack Smyth

Sci-Fi/Fantasy cover winner: Nathan Burton

Series Design covers winner: Suzanne Dean (illustrator), Aino-Maija Metsola (illustrator)

Classics/Reissue cover winner: Jamie Keenan

Children’s cover winner: Dominica Clements (designer), Anna Billson (art director), Oliver Jeffers (illustrator)

Women’s Fiction cover winner: Kris Potter

Literary Fiction cover winner: Suzanne Dean (designer), Marion de Man (illustrator)

Crime/Thriller cover winner: Blacksheep

Young Adult cover winner: Sinem Erkas

Mass Market cover winner: Jack Smyth

The shortlisted work in each category can be seen at

The post The Academy of British Cover Design’s covers of the year appeared first on Creative Review.


Leave a Reply