Breaking News: Announcing The 2017 Grand Prix D’Horlogerie De Genève Jury

Img 0041 copy.jpeg?ixlib=rails 1.1

There are very few events in watchmaking that bring the many corners of the industry together like the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG). The annual award ceremony is hosted by a non-profit organization seeking to give notice to the best and brightest of modern watchmaking, and while not every brand or group participates (looking at you, Rolex and Patek), these are easily the most comprehensive and important awards given in watches. And this week the organizers have announced who will be sitting on the 2017 jury.

<p>Independent watchmaker Philippe Dufour.<br></p>

Independent watchmaker Philippe Dufour.

<p>Our own editor-in-chief, Jack Forster<br></p>

Our own editor-in-chief, Jack Forster

While many jurors from years past are returning – Elizabeth Doerr, Philippe Dufour, Claude Sfeir, Abdul Seddiqi – there is a new wave of more-than-accomplished experts joining the ranks for the first time. Most notably, independent British watchmaker Roger Smith is joining, as is our very own editor-in-chief, Mr. Jack Forster. Furthermore, Revolution‘s Suzanne Wong and independent vintage Rolex dealer and collector Eric Ku will round out this year’s jury.

The initial round of watches that have been submitted for consideration this year will be available online in July, and from there the jury will narrow the selection down to a group of finalists a few months later before meeting in the fall to decide the victors and present the awards at a swanky event in Geneva. 

<p><i>Revolution</i> Magazine's Suzanne Wong<br></p>

Revolution Magazine’s Suzanne Wong

<p>Independent dealer and collector Eric Ku<br></p>

Independent dealer and collector Eric Ku

We’ll of course have complete coverage for you the entire way through the process, and in Novemeber we will also be broadcasting the GPHG ceremony itself live here on the site for the fourth year in a row.

You can see the full list of jurors here.


Leave a Reply